Day 11 en 12 (tekau ma whitu & tekau ma rua) - Reisverslag uit Wellington, Nieuw Zeeland van Micky - WaarBenJij.nu Day 11 en 12 (tekau ma whitu & tekau ma rua) - Reisverslag uit Wellington, Nieuw Zeeland van Micky - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 11 en 12 (tekau ma whitu & tekau ma rua)

Door: Micky

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Micky

15 Juni 2005 | Nieuw Zeeland, Wellington

Hya
(3 exams done, 1 to go...)
And so, we're coming close to the end of the trip...in the morning we visited Hell's Gate a thermal park where I hadn't been before, it was nice, but the other one was much cooler, now I think it is stupid we didn't go to Wai O Tapu as well, especially because my mom liked my photo's so much. Maybe it's a good reason to visit NZ again...

After Rotorua we drove to Napier, Napier is a city completely in Art Deco style because it was destroyed in an earthquake a reasonably short time ago. That is really special but somehow we forgot to take photo's, maybe for me because I got a little overkill again, too many nice things to see..

Where do you think we stayed in Napier? Yep, again, at the beach. Again with nicely decorated public toilets! Hihi.
During dinner I tipped a whole glass of red wine over my trousers!! GOD how stupid! My mom could barely restrain herself from laughing and later on I could see what was so funny, not at the time though. I thought I just ruined my only "winterpants." My mom rinsed it in the sea, so sweet of her to walk into the cold sea for me!
And it helped! No winespots left in my trousers!

After Napier we drove back to Wellington where we stayed...at the beach...The reason why we went so early is that one of my friends, Hayley, works at a Maori Restaurant, the only one in Wellington. I thought it would be cool to have my mom taste real maori Kai. The restaurant's name is Kai in the Bay (Kai means Food).
It was really good food and we enjoyed the athmosphere in the restaurant. Hayley had told her Boss that I'm from Holland and that my mom was visiting so they knew and wanted my mom to sing a song! It turned out to be Pokarekare Ana, a famous song written by the guy I wrote an essay about, that was really cool since I knew about the song, but had never heard it.

The next day we drove the campervan to Helen Lowry Hall so we could clean it properly. Have a shower, get dressed nicely because that evening we were going to see the New Zealand Ballet!

After returning the campervan we went to the museum, Te Papa, which has free entry and spent the rest of the afternoon there. Then we had an early dinner. The ballet started at 6.30!!

The Ballet was really cool, it contained three parts, all three very different from the others. The first one was a Pas de Deux with beautiful piano music, I got tears in my eyes it was soo touching!!
The second part was weird, not easy to describe, so I won't. And the third was a mix of classical and modern dance, but again it is such a visual experience, I cannot really explain..(you should have seen it I guess)

After the Ballet I realised my mom still hadn't tasted the famous Hokey Pokey Icecream, and she couldn't leave without, s we bought some so she could try and she liked it (icecream with little balls of caramel, what's not to like)

The next morning it was time for my mom to go back home...

  • 15 Juni 2005 - 09:55

    Auri:

    u cry at a ballet?!:| dacht dat ik erg was, hehehe. succes met je laatste tentamen!!
    kus

  • 15 Juni 2005 - 13:36

    Bert:

    Man het lijkt wel alsof je alleen maar op het strand hebt geslapen. Me is jealous....;)
    Succes met je laatste tentamen!!!!

  • 17 Juni 2005 - 14:41

    Gemma:

    Ja, dat waren de laatste vakantiedagen. Ik heb genoten. We hebben veel gereden en heel veel gezien en ik mis het strand. Ik was in Callandsoog, bij de Noordzee, maar de oceaan heeft het wel voor mij.
    Micky Bedankt!. Mamma. Dikke kus.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nieuw Zeeland, Wellington

Micky
Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 63
Totaal aantal bezoekers 69482

Voorgaande reizen:

13 Februari 2014 - 13 Februari 2014

Life down under

30 November -0001 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

15 Juni 2010 - 30 November -0001

Final Destination?

Landen bezocht: